Gaspar Sanz formed in a small studio in Leichhardt in 2016. Comprised of James Bell (vocals), Sam Devenport (Tame Impala’s former drummer), Jesse Lawrence (guitar), and Dom Coulton (bass) the band quickly became known for their ability to mix psych-rock with high energy pop.

Described by triple j‘s Declan Byrne as “a big jolt of energy, and one of my favs of this year”, Gaspar Sanz continue to impress with each new release since their debut instant hit ‘On My Way’. This year saw them signed to local label Helium Records, where they work closely with music industry stalwart Mark Pope & entertainment maverick Mark Fennessy.

Fast building a reputation for their incredible onstage performances, they have drawn comparisons to the great bands and frontmen of the past. Frontman James’ energy is magnetic; combining a wild frenzy of movement and passion that engages even the most passive of viewers; whilst the rest of the band are slick, tightly in sync with their vocalist.